My Family

Part 2 of 3

My Family

 Then one day may Champion came to me

My knight in shining armor riding a dark horse

I have come to open your eyes so you can see

Was the opening line of His discourse

 

You are so steeped in these lies

That have been fed to you since birth

That it will take time to open your eyes

And make you see your worth

 

For this reason I am sending you a new Family

They will be My light in your dark world

When they embrace you, you will see

All the lies become unfurled

 

How will I know them? I asked with a tremble

How can I trust that they come from you

What if their lies are just more artful

And they are no better than my current crew

 

Bring your friends along with you, if you must

I will not force you to let go all at once

Over time they will gain your trust

And you will grow weary of your friend’s hindrance

 

You will know your new family by these names

Wisdom, Empathy, Grace, Truth, Justice, Mercy, Love, and Faith

They will work together and pull you from the flames

And they will reveal your friend as a wraith

About RisingFromTheAshesPoetry

I am a survivor of domestic violence and I write poetry: Wisdom once said put your life into verse Or your pain and suffering will only get worse He said put your thoughts into rhyme And the healing you seek will come in time
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment